Essay Contest – Scholarships available to aid tuition funding for high school seniors!  Read on for details!

Chapter 416 is proud to sponsor an annual essay contest that provides scholarship funds for High School Seniors (and home schooler’s) for college.

Our intent is to offer students willing to do some research, provide strong rationale, logic, and thought to a topic pertaining to national defense or national pride and to present it in written form.  The essays are printed in our local newsletter and published on our web site.  The 1st place essay is automatically entered in the AFA Texas State Essay Contest where an additional $2000 for first and $1000 for second place are available.

Students write a two-page essay and provide it back to the chapter, due early December of each year with awards being announced not later than March of each year. Funds are presented to schools upon notification and registration of student.  Funds can be sent directly to the school student is attending.  There is a new topic each year.  Tabs on this page show current contest topic, rules and suspense dates.  Other tabs show past winners , essays, and pictures of our awards banquet and additional mementos.

Chapter 416 Annual Scholarship Awards;  1st = $1000 (sponsored by the Lt Col John Murray Education Fund), 2nd = $500 (sponsored by L-3 MID, Greenville Texas), and 3rd = $500 (currently a chapter award).  And remember, 1st is automatically submitted for the AFA Texas State competition for additional $2000/$1000 potential prizes.

If you don’t find something you need to know, or have questions, please contact us at (903)274-9981.